Solar Powered Trash Compactor

Fancy Chicago Trash Can, originally uploaded by espeedy123.

Living up to its cleanest-big-city reputation, Chicago now has super fancy solar-powered trash compactors. We were there visiting this weekend and disposed of some trash in one of these “Big Bellies.” Michael is showing with his hands how he thinks the trash is compacted, but he is not solar powered. Amy is probably wondering why we are so amused.

The Big Belly site says the device fits five times as much trash as a regular can, thus reducing the number of trips to empty it by 80%. That saves a lot of energy. It seems like a pretty good idea to me.

Anyone seen these in other cities yet?

4 responses to “Solar Powered Trash Compactor

  1. It’s cool that Chicago is doing that. But I don’t imagine it’s a cost effective solution for the city and mayor Daley on a broad scale. Someday…

  2. I hope a squirrel doesn’t go in there after some cheezburger.

  3. I got an email this a.m. from the City of Dallas Grease Abatement Coordinator that there are two of these at the Fair Park Lagoon. I will have to check them out next time I’m there!

  4. I’m surprised the Grease Abatement Coordinator is still employed…I thought the gas shortage had done away with the need. We now need a Grease Theft Team Swat Coordinator.

Leave a comment