Cheap Chic Chandelier

Chandelier

This is a chandelier I bought on craigslist for $15.  Fabulous, right?

It started out with an outdated, shiny brass finish, which I fixed using my favorite new tool my mom gave me for Christmas:

Spray Paint Trigger, originally uploaded by espeedy123.

It’s a Rust-Oleum spray paint trigger device. My mom knows how much I like to spray paint!

It works really well and makes painting much easier and more fun. The process feels more professional too, like you have a huge professional spray paint machine behind you.

Here’s the fixture pre-project:

Craigslist chandelier

The fixture painting process is pretty simple:

  • Remove the candlestick sleeves,
  • Tape off the socket and wiring,
  • Hang it outside, and
  • Spray to your heart’s content.

I primed first:

Primed chandelier

I then followed with a combination of bronze and gold “hammered” spray paints by Rust-Oleum. They are nice because they aren’t so flat. I also painted the little metal parts that go around the candlesticks flat black, just to mix it up.

There are plenty of expensive fixtures out there for inspiration, ones that I think are relatively easily mimicked:

Martha Stewart’s Jadeite Chandelier, which costs $1,000+ (doesn’t someone sell jadeite spray paint?!?!?)

jadeite

An Ethan Allen Chandelier that inspired me. (I saw this one in the store and the finish is not super great on the real life $1,300 version!!)

ethan-allen

10 responses to “Cheap Chic Chandelier

  1. Your fixture looks really good. Does it give you enough light?

  2. I have to get one of those spray paint triggers! I have had a numb and cramped finger from spray paint cans. Thanks for sharing that!
    ~Judy

  3. Thanks for your comments! It gives plenty of light, significantly more than the old fixture that had just 5 or 6 sockets. I put the fixture on a dimmer recently, which makes things more pleasant. I personally like the Lutron Ariadni dimmer which costs around $12. It looks like my other toggle switches, which is why I like it. http://www.lutron.com/ariadni/?s=17000&t=17200

  4. Erin, I’m such a fan of your blog and I’m belatedly trying the update of our shiny brass lighting chandeliers. Today I bought the same paint you used and I’m ready but now I have a very amateur question: how exactly did you “mix the bronze and the gold?” Thank you so much for all your great ideas!

  5. It’s never amaterish to ask. 🙂 I just sprayed both at once with one in each hand. No real science to it. If you mess up just paint over it. Best of luck!

  6. Thanks so much. I’ll let you know how it turns out!

  7. barbara clark

    I purchased two brass shades for a chandelier that says “Royal Touch” made in Mexico. I purchased six at an estate sale and I need two more. Please let me know if I can purchase two more. Thank you. Barbara Clark

  8. I finally painted the two shiny brass chandeliers from our dining room and kitchen. They turned out great! Such a vast improvement!
    Also, my thanks to you for recommending the spray paint trigger–a definite must-have! I did buy the Rust-Oleum brand and it was just what I needed. The next day, just to have an extra, I bought the cheap version and it is definitely a case of “you get what you pay for!” Thanks for sharing all your great ideas.

  9. toggle switches are very handy specially if your project requires momentary on switch.,

    <a href="Freshest brief article on our own blog site
    http://www.caramoantravel.com/caramoan-beach-resort/

  10. toggle switches are very handy specially if your project requires momentary on switch.`

    <a href="Hottest brief article on our own blog page
    http://www.caramoantravel.com/caramoan-accommodation/

Leave a comment