I am the Junk Fairy: Sandbox = Raised Veg. Garden

Sandbox, originally uploaded by espeedy123.

A week or so ago I came across this sandbox in a neighbor’s brush-and-bulky trash pile. It’s about 3.5 feet square, and I think it would make an excellent raised vegetable garden bed. After removing the shade cover, I think the posts would work well as frames or supports for a couple tomatoes, or maybe some beans.

I don’t have a good sunny spot for this, so my brother-in-law David is going to use it in his backyard. Success! Junk in, junk out. I am now gifting junk! I am truly the junk fairy!

2 responses to “I am the Junk Fairy: Sandbox = Raised Veg. Garden

  1. The best part about The Junk Fairy is that she delivers.

  2. Perfect! I just converted my granddaughter’s sandbox to a raised bed garden since she no longer plays in it but wants to garden instead. I reused the latticework ‘catproofing’ cover as an ivy trellis and there’s nothing left over. I set the sandbox (it’s bottomless) on a layer of bricks somebody else was tossing out to raise it a bit higher and keep it from ground contact.

Leave a Reply

