Squirrel was Here

Squirrel was Here, originally uploaded by espeedy123.

Your eyes do not deceive you. This is a ripe, half-eaten homegrown tomato perched atop my backyard fence. Deposited by a squirrel no doubt. Looking outside my kitchen window, I witnessed perhaps the same squirrel running up my neighbors roof with a smaller red one in its filthy undeserving mouth.

How depressing. To avoid this I believe you either must pick them green and let them ripen inside or create a physical barrier with netting. I hate to pick them unripe because they don’t taste as good. What’s the point? But I’ve been so busy the net’s not quite situated right. Obviously. Need to work on that. But until then, it appears I’m writing off a chunk of my crop to the squirrels.

4 responses to “Squirrel was Here

  1. The worst part is that once a squirrel discovers where they are, it comes back several times a day and decimates the rest of your tomatoes. They like to grab one, take a bite (or a few bites), and then throw it down and get a brand new one a little bit later.

    I was in South Padre for the weekend, and several of my tomatoes went completely ripe and now a squirrel has discovered mine too. I threw six half eaten ones into my compost pile today.

    I had been dutifully picking them just as they started to turn to keep the squirrels away.

    Now I’m crossing my fingers, hoping that they don’t get a taste for the green ones.

    I’m heading to work to grab some Hot Pepper Wax to spray everything.

  2. Yikes! I am not looking forward to the critters invading my garden!

    Your blog is amazing and very inspirational! Thanks for all the great posts! My first year gardening and your gardening posts have been super helpful!

    Thanks!

  3. Speaking from personal experience, Lars is absolutely correct. I have the same experience with my pecan tree and my tomatoes, and I nearly took off and nuked the entire site from orbit after they started chewing through the stems of my luffa squash and letting the squash drop when they discovered the seeds weren’t ripe. Normally, I’m a fan of the local critters (I even made friends with the local possums), but as far as the squirrels are concerned, I’m trying to teach them that Datura seeds are tasty.

  4. I have been gardening for six years now here in St. Louis, and fighting squirrels constantly. Instead of fencing off my garden I have been trapping them and relocating them to a nice wooded park a mile away. We have captured 55 since January. To my surprise, we have severely affected the population. I still lose half my tomatoes, but on the bright side, I get to keep half, which is more than the zero I used to actually harvest. But you must stay vigilant, new ones move in when the old thieves are gone!

Leave a Reply

