My First Big Rose Bloom of the Season

Duchesse de Brabant, originally uploaded by espeedy123.

This fall I planted five different types of “Earth Kind” roses in my front landscape, all of them pink. I already had one in the ground from the year before, and it did so well I gave her some friends. Earth Kind is a classification awarded by the Texas A&M Extension, and it means the rose is easy to grow and doesn’t require pesticides, fungicides or a ton of fertilizer.

This particular variety is called Duchesse de Brabant. From the Antique Rose Emporium:

Teddy Roosevelt made this rose his favorite, often wearing a bud or flower as a boutonniere. It is very nearly our greatest favorite, too. The cupped pink flowers have a cabbagey roundness to them, as if they were picked from a luscious old rose painting. Nearly continuously in bloom, these roses can be counted on for a rich whiff of fragrance at absolutely any time of the day, even in the hot Texas sun. The apple green leaves are slightly wavy.

An image of a bouquet from their site:

duchesse

4 responses to “My First Big Rose Bloom of the Season

  1. Roses in March? It’s like you live on Mars. 😉 That bloom is da bomb!

  2. Tres belle rose! I discovered your lovely blog.
    I will be coming back to learn more 🙂

  3. Pingback: Earth Kind Rose: Spice « erin covert * hands on

  4. That rose is breath taking! I live in GA and my roses bloom early too.

Leave a Reply

