Iron Shelf: Before and After

Iron Shelf: After, originally uploaded by espeedy123.

I snagged this old iron outdoor wall shelf from my parents. They have more outdoor furniture than they can use, and as you can see it had been a long time since it was in use.

before

I used a wire brush to remove most of the rust and then spray painted it black. Three glass shelves 3/8″ thick with polished edges cost $45 from a glass store.

The inspiration to hang it inside came from a story I tore out of Metropolitan Home magazine a few years ago. I’ve been trying to base my living and dining areas off this design, which I might call grown-up retro modern. More sophisticated and less spunky than the poppy retro mod that seems so prevalent and available now.  This house has blue walls and black iron rails on the staircase, and some swank iron-looking lamps on a mantle.  I recently scanned the pages because I’ve taken them to the fabric and paint stores so often I’m afraid they might get lost or fall apart.

met-home

met-home-2

I may not have a fancy-pants staircase rail, but I do have blue walls.  And now I have an old outdoor wall shelf made new!  And a retro silver tea & coffee set to boot!  I am quite pleased with how it turned out.

Iron Shelf

2 responses to “Iron Shelf: Before and After

  1. It looks beautiful, don’t you love it when a plan comes together. I’m lovin’ the blue walls.
    ~Judy

  2. When are you going to throw the nude oil painting above your fireplace like the one in the picture?

Leave a Reply

