Inexpensive, Eco-friendly Shelf Organizers

Garage Organization Project, originally uploaded by espeedy123.

A couple weeks ago Oprah and her organizing guru Peter Walsh started a “clean up your messy house” series. Their goal is to help viewers organize and get rid of clutter.

I am a bit of a clutter bug myself. Not horrible, like some of those they had on the show. But I do have a lot of project tools and estate sales goo-gaa’s and stuff I pick up out of brush-and-bulky collection. At some point the glue gun and the compost tea aerator and the spare twist-ties and the lamp harp end up in the same garage pile. That’s when I can’t find any of them.

So Oprah and Peter motivated me to start cleaning up the garage. I have built in shelving, but it’s so open and deep that stuff just gets piled up. I needed something to help me separate and manage items.

The solution? The free product display boxes from Sam’s Club!

At the back of the shelves I set a row of sturdy boxes upside down to act as a raised platforms. On top of those, and in front of them on the actual shelf, I arranged more of the boxes to hold and display tools and other items. It creates a second level of shelving and allows me to see everything. Free and fabulous!

The people at Sam’s let me take as many as I wanted, and I even found some uniquely shaped boxes good for separating tools:

Cheap Tool Organizer

Most of these boxes are incredibly sturdy, and I know from watching how much work Michael puts into product packaging design that someone really thought about how to design each box. At first I thought all the different package printing would look junky, but I have come to think of it as an ode to Warhol. It’s my green reuse of something that otherwise represents excess consumerism. Perhaps that’s overthinking it. They seem to work well either way.

One response to “Inexpensive, Eco-friendly Shelf Organizers

  1. Hello there, simply turned into alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative. I’m gonna be careful for brussels. I will be grateful should you continue this in future. Numerous folks will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

