Look What I Found in the Brush-and-Bulky Piles!

It seems the economic meltdown hasn’t stopped people from discarding valuable items.  I was on the prowl recently for good bagged composting leaves and ended up picking up all this stuff people put out for bulky garbage collection:
 

Free Stuff

Six 75-foot long soaker hoses.  These were all in one giant pile in front of a house in the next block.  I tested a couple out and it appears there is nothing wrong with them.  Just a couple weeks ago I bought a pair of these at Sam’s Club.  Unfortunate timing, but I will eventually find a good spot for all of them.  At Home Depot yesterday I priced this long variety at around $14 for each one!  What luck!!
 
A 10-foot section of steel edging.  I continually buy this product at Lowe’s as I work my way around the front landscape beds.  Each 10-foot section is $10, so this acquisition will save me enough to ….. I dunno, buy some junk on craigslist?!?!  🙂  It appears to be in good shape, so who knows why someone got rid of it.
 
Several large, tubby plant containers.  These were out in front of a house someone is flipping.  It appears they held some Indian hawthorn from a nursery, based on the tags.  I like that they are short for their overall size.  I stuck them in a row out behind the vegetable garden where they will eventually grow something useful or beautiful.
 

Free Pots

Container Planting Area

 
And the grand prize …… a vintage Queen Anne solid wood coffee table by Bassett furniture.  Odd, right?  Seriously this was next to a bunch of grass clippings and lawn garbage.  It is solid wood and in pretty decent shape with just one chip on the top.  It was next to a box from West Elm, no doubt a cheap replacement that will last a fraction as long.  I don’t really need this table, but it is growing on me.  I may paint it, I may offload it on craigslist, I just couldn’t let it go to the dump.
 

Free Coffee Table

 
I also got a ton of leaves, which has become my new favorite pastime.  I’ll detail that in a later post.  Happy trolling!!
8 responses to “Look What I Found in the Brush-and-Bulky Piles!

  1. Next thing we know, you’ll become a full-on Freegan!

    (Seriously though, nice finds.)

  2. Hey… cool border edging… I didn’t see THAT when I was there…. better not leave it out back now that I know where you live! :o)

    Seriously, where is the hillbilly hot house?

  3. Those large tub planters are awesome…..you can cut the bottom off and sink them into the ground to contain plants that you don’t want to “roam”.

  4. You could paint the table with exterior paint and use it as a bench outside, not that you need that.

  5. All very good ideas. While I doubt I will ever become a full-on freegan, I may start intentionally driving the truck around during bulky collection periods. And the hillbilly hothouse will reveal itself in a post soon to come.

  6. I have a deal for you if you want leaves. Come to my house in about two weeks with a rake, and you can have all of the leaves that you want.

  7. About the table, maybe Patty would want it if you don’t have anything else in mind.

  8. Pingback: Inexpensive, Eco-friendly Shelf Organizers « erin covert * hands on

Leave a Reply

