Dremel Projects

About 6 months ago I bought a Dremel 400 Series XPR rotary tool. I had a few projects in mind but was a little concerned that I wouldn’t get a lot of use out of it.

It turns out that my Dremel’s been really useful for some odd projects that I never would have anticipated before buying it. I thought it would be useful to post some of those projects here for anyone researching the tool who like me, wondered if it was worth purchasing.

Fixing the fence

The planer attachment for the 400 series tool allows you to shave off just a little bit of something. In the case of my sticky fence, I used the tool to take off about 1/4 inch of wood that was causing the gate to not shut. It took a dozen or so passes to get sufficient wood removed.

Grinding brick

IMG_0986

Changing out a porch fixture, it became clear that I couldn’t hang the lamp straight without chipping away at the corner of a brick that was sticking out beyond the side of the house. It’s sort of tough to see here, but I needed to remove about 1/4 inch of the corner of the brick that was poking out in the top row. I used a sanding bit and it did the job smoothly and beautifully. I think a chisel might have done more damage.

Trimming the headrail of a wood blind
Getting the exact right fit on blinds can be tough. I bought a really inexpensive matchstick blind for the home office, and it was about 1/2 inch too wide for the window opening. I used the cut-off wheel bit to take a bit off. Then it fit!

Cut a steel pipe
When we moved into the house, the patch of grass out near the garage had an old metal spinning clothesline. The line contraption set on top of a pole that rose vertically up out of the ground. I dug nearly two feet down into the ground trying to get the pole out and it wouldn’t budge. Finally I put the heavy-duty cut off wheel onto the Dremel, reached down into the hole, and cut that sucker off. I filled the hole back up and haven’t thought about it since.

Other projects I’ve done with the tool:

  • Buffing the front door handleset
  • Cut off the head of a nail stuck in a 2×4
  • Cut notches into hardboard

Do you have a Dremel? What do you do with your Dremel? Please comment!!!

Leave a Reply

