Removing an intercom speaker, patching the wall

Wall patch

fin-wall.jpg

Wall fixin’ slide show

Sometimes I like to imagine what my house was like when it was first built. Fresh and new, with the coolest wood paneling, neat little mod box hedges, and the fanciest push button cooktop that any hostess would die for.

The modern couple who lived in my house — they liked to be in touch. What better way to keep tabs on everyone than with an intercom? Why walk down the hallway twenty feet to the kitchen when you could buzz your hubby? If you were sipping a martini on the back patio, in the shade of the crinkly aluminum overhang, admiring the just planted live oak, you could still talk to someone on the front porch. Why you would do that I’m not sure.

Fast forward to today. The intercom doesn’t seem to work, and the aging gold speaker covers scream “I’m an old house!”

I recently removed the first of the speakers and patched the wall, and while this may seem like a routine home improvement task, I discovered a great product that made the process a lot easier, so I thought I’d blog about it here.

It’s a self-adhesive metal wall patch. Peel and stick! Seemed too easy to me but the guy at Home Depot assured me the result would be better than if I were to cut out and install a drywall patch. All you have to do is slap the metal sticker over the hole, go over it a couple times with joint compound, then texture and paint the wall. I squirted some anti-roach powder down the hole before covering it up. This is likely not super green. It only takes having a dead roach fall out on you when you pull off a wall sconce before you take such measures.

4 responses to “Removing an intercom speaker, patching the wall

  1. I’m sure the roach powder you used is boric acid. While this could be toxic if ingested, as a powder between the walls, it is fine. It works by dehydrating the insects. In a diluted solution, boric acid is used as an eye wash, so I think the environment will be OK with it.

  2. What did you do with the old intercom speaker(s)?

  3. I know this post is kind of old, but thanks! I have EXACTLY the same problem in my circa-1958 house that I purchased from the original owner, except that they nailed all the frames to the studs, then plastered over them. I’ve seem that metal patch deal at HD, but didn’t think it would work. How did you match the wall texture?

  4. I find that getting texture right is all about trial and error and practice before working on the actual surface. I used premixed joint compound thinned out with water applied by hand with a brush and muddled up just by motion of bristles.

Leave a Reply

